Adventures with Levison Wood

Best – selling author, photographer and TV presenter Levison Wood is coming to the Wyvern Theatre in March and will be sharing his experiences and exploits as a modern day explorer. Hear his exploits including being chased by hippos, shot at by gunmen and arrested more times than he can remember.

Read our chat with Levison below.

******

You’re going to be touring the UK in spring. What sorts of stories are you planning to share?

Without wanting to spoil the suprise, I plan to talk about my latest expedition ‘Walking the Americas’ as well as what has inspired me along the way, and how I wnet from being in the Parachute Regiment to forging a career as an explorer. I’ll talk about the challenges and pitfalls; the dangers and the rewards of a career as a professional traveller. I’ll also share some stories from ‘behind the scenes’ that don’t make it into the TV series. I hope I’ll inspired people to go on their own adventures and make people laugh and challenge their perceptions of places. I’m very fortunate to be able do do this for a living.

Describe your show in three words.

Why we travel.

What do you enjoy most about touring?

I do a fair few shows and events each year, ranging from small intimate venues to concert halls, but thsi is my first big tour on this scale. I love the challenge of speaking in front of hundreds of people and trying to keep them entertained. It’s great to be able to share my experiences.

How do you prepare for a show?

I’ll be relating anecdotes from all my major expeditions and sharing some of my photography and film footage, so there’s a lot of preparation goes into that. Immediately before the show I try and take it easy. Maybe catch up with friends or family for a quiet meal. That helps me to relax.

If you could invite ten special guests (living or dead) to sit in the front row, who would the be?

I’d invite my exploration heroes along, although it would be terrifying to speak front of the likes of Captain Scott, David Livingstone, Burton, Speke, Stanley, Samuel Baker, Eric Newby and Shackleton. I also really wish my grandparents could be there. They passed away before I started doing all of this. Luckily, my parents try to come along to at least one or two of my shows. That’s more than ten, isn’t it?

levison-wood-marketing-image

What’s the strangest question you’ve been asked by a member of the audience?

I can’t recall anything particularly strange, but people should feel free to ask away. I usually get a lot of practical questions. What’s the worst food you’ve eatedn (bush rat), what make of boots do you wear? (Altberg), how may changes of clothes do you get through (not man – two or three max). That kind of thing. Kids ask some really good questions, as they don’t self censor.

Do you ever get stage fright?

I sometimes still get nervous before an event, but you have to get on with it. I haven’t frozen yet.

******

Levison Wood is at the Wyvern Theatre on Tuesday 7th March.

For more information and to buy tickets please visit: http://bit.ly/LevisonWood

Follow Levision Wood on  Facebook, Twitter & Instagram.

Watch the trailer for Walking The Americas on Channel 4 here: https://youtu.be/j_X94ucthCo

 

 

Leave a Reply

